Post #3030454
2026-03-09 17:08 UTC
However, your server can't force the other 40,000 servers to actually erase the data.
Most servers honour the request instantly, but if a server is offline, over-capacity, or malicious, that copy may stay on their hard drive, and visible online, indefinitely.
In the decentralised world of the Social Web, "Delete" is a request, not a command.
Replies (4)
-
@audioflyer79@mstdn.social 2026-03-09 17:24
@jaz@toot.wales so why do some people make a point of setting their toots to delete after some period of time?
-
@josh0@babka.social 2026-03-09 17:25
@jaz@toot.wales people also need to understand this about things like training LLMs, and search indexing. There is absolutely no way to stop someone from using your toots for those purposes, as long as they can follow you.
-
@ovrim@wien.rocks 2026-03-09 21:31
@jaz@toot.wales you also can't force X or whatever to delete your post...
-
@momo@social.linux.pizza 2026-03-10 08:30
@jaz@toot.wales I assume the same applies to "Edit"? I mean it makes sense, why would it be handled differently. And good to know. I rarely delete toots but sometimes I edit them when I see typos.