Elektrine lite

← Feed

@wod0bow@mastodon.social

Post #4248701

2026-07-26 20:26 UTC

@GrapheneOS@grapheneos.social How about one more cool feature? Right now if User block mic, camera or disable location (by the toggle in quick settings) and the App ask about access for one of those it will reamain available/enabled after the APP closes. It will be great if it will return to the state before and the access was granted only for this specific App temporary. How can it work? I will explain in next post.

Replies (2)

  • @wod0bow@mastodon.social 2026-07-26 20:41

    @GrapheneOS@grapheneos.social 1. You have this feature on in settings. 2. You blocked/disabled by a toggle in quick settings Mic/Camera/Location (at least one) 3. Open App that need access to one of those for example mic. 4. Popup to grant access appears (just like it is implemented now) 5. You're granting access for Mic but it is only temporary until the app is running and only for this App. Other app need separate permision (popup) 6. You are closing App and the access is revoked.

    Open ##4248702

  • @wod0bow@mastodon.social There's an existing standard Android feature for granting one-time access to Camera, Microphone or Location. It revokes it 1 minute after the app stops being actively used either directly or via a foreground service started while in use that's explicitly using one or more of those permissions in a way that's visible to the user. We recommend using one-time grants for all 3 permissions in the vast majority of cases. The global toggles aren't particularly useful if you follow this.

    Open ##4344919