Post #1555922
2026-03-12 02:13 UTC
Replies (4)
-
@draeath@infosec.exchange 2026-03-12 02:16
@keirFox it's a bit of a workaround, but if you have a phone you can install termux on, consider SSH'ing into the laptop and issuing a clean reboot (or if it's a recent-enough distro, try systemctl soft-reboot for a quicker time). This has saved my own bacon a few times over the years.
-
@yakkoj@fosstodon.org 2026-03-12 02:23
@keirFox aha... that would explain it What file system type is this? I've had this happen on ext4 and xfs when I had to force-reset (so the only file I noticed being littered with NUL was /var/log/messages)
-
@nytpu@tilde.zone 2026-03-12 05:00
@keirFox Hmm, two things that might help in the future: Using "REISUB" with the Magic SysRq key will pretty universally safely shut down even "hard frozen" systems unless there's literally a Kernel panic. Hold Alt, and, holding it the whole time, press Print Screen (screenshot on some keyboards, or my laptop keyboard actually sneakily offers SysRq with function+s), then slowly type r-e-i-s-u-b one character at a time and your screen should go black and then reboot after the b (you can repeat it if it doesn't seem to work the first time) And, it might be worth it to look into some incremental backup thing like Borg backup so it's easier to restore files in the future? https://www.borgbackup.org/ It works by only storing the changes that occurred between backups in files, so you could make a new backup every hour if you wanted and it'd barely increase the storage at all, only storing the differences (rather than storing whole copies of every file every time like manual backups or some backup software). So you still have access old versions and can go back as far as necessary to find the uncorrupted copy
-
@forst@mastodon.social 2026-03-12 08:06
@keirFox Perhaps stating the obvious, but the fact that just viewing a directory in a file browser overwrites something in it (that doesn't get flushed to disk on force shutdown) is scary, and I wonder why it's doing it. Bug or intentional? I'd understand if it corrupted the thumbnail cache that's separate from the originals, but overwriting the originals is suspicious.