Post #1555944
2026-03-12 08:06 UTC
@keirFox Perhaps stating the obvious, but the fact that just viewing a directory in a file browser overwrites something in it (that doesn't get flushed to disk on force shutdown) is scary, and I wonder why it's doing it. Bug or intentional?
I'd understand if it corrupted the thumbnail cache that's separate from the originals, but overwriting the originals is suspicious.
Replies (1)
-
@keirFox@tiggi.es 2026-03-12 12:29
@forst This is why I'm confused -- at no point were these files open for write. Well, not that I know of -- maybe the thumbnailer I have is very badly written. I've experienced expected corruption with files I had open for write on forced shutdowns which doesn't surprise me at all but I'm a little spooked by this.