Post #1191880
2026-04-15 22:11 UTC
@codemonkeymike but if Apple can remove the lock then surely it’s equally possible that someone else could too which would sort of defeat the purpose, wouldn’t it?
Certainly, I would agree that if a person goes through the steps to wipe the machine to give it away or sell then that process should absolutely remove all of the security locks from the machine.
Replies (2)
-
@nicolas17@social.treehouse.systems 2026-04-15 23:58
@LoneLocust @codemonkeymike no, only Apple can clear it from their server database.
-
@grumpybozo@toad.social 2026-04-16 16:14
@LoneLocust@mastodon.social @codemonkeymike@fosstodon.org As I understand it, Apple *could* in principle allow a total 'factory' wipe of a machine by any authorized iCloud account, and they *could* in principle make any machine without a registered owner authorize any authenticated iCloud account. It’s not clear to me whether the 'lock' of existing locked machines is such that they can retroactively unlock them, i.e. if the local secrets enclave is encrypted by a user key or an Apple key.