Elektrine lite

← Feed

@elduvelle@neuromatch.social

Post #3226985

2025-06-22 15:53 UTC

@chris_e_simpson@hachyderm.io Interesting rule :) is that because you're worried that the author completely changes the message? Like, turning the message into spam or something? To make sure this isn't the case you can always check the history of edits before un-boosting! This should be shown at the bottom of the message "edited on xx" if you click it will indicate what changed. I tend to check that quite often and have never seen the case of a "malicious" edit. Most often it's just correcting typos, or adding hashtags...

Replies (1)

  • @elduvelle@neuromatch.social I dislike the whole notification engagement cycle, I'd much rather come on here and check for new messages in my own time, but the ability to edit a long time after a post means I have to be on the alert for changes that, as you suggested, alter the message in a nefarious way (I know most people won't do that, but it can happen) The other thing is that edits can be used to send unwanted notifications for purely promotional reasons. By boosting your post, I'm giving you the power to make me read your post again and again, any time you want So I just unboost instead of re-read which gives me my agency back and removes my "endorsement" of that person's words

    Open ##3226987