Elektrine lite

← Feed

@MostlyTato@mstdn.social

Post #3145141

2025-01-21 19:18 UTC

@Meowthias@mastodon.world I'm not entirely sure its actually possible to delete a FB account. Even if you do, I suspect it keeps all your data permanently, despite what it may say, and it would be possible to log back in at a later date. This is a suspicion though, can't confirm and happy to be proved wrong.

Replies (1)

  • @MostlyTato@mstdn.social @Meowthias@mastodon.world Well.. Sadly it is exactly how you're written. Fb does not physically delete nor remove users data from their clusters (servers). All the "deleted" content still remain there but is only marked as invisible to the people. The only way to really get rid of your own data from there is to overwrite them with some random, junky, trash dummy-files. There are online some extra scripts/browser add-ons to do that job automatically. But it takes some time to complete this task.

    Open ##3145142