Post #3124698
2026-03-27 20:48 UTC
@gmh@mastodon.social wait... Shouldn't 'possibly underage' mean LESS shared data?! How is this being enabled by default complying with anything "child protective"? This way round it seems to just flush out privacy concerned adults...
Replies (2)
-
@gmh@mastodon.social 2026-03-27 23:01
@atkelar@meow.social Depends on who you’re sharing it with. I think Apple’s thinking is ‘if they can’t prove they’re an adult, assume that the user is a kid given a phone by their parents’ - and in that case, it might be reasonable to default to sharing location, so you can find them. This is part of the Screen Time interface; I think the intent is that a parent would set this up; in such a case, you wouldn’t want Junior turning the setting off…
-
@ohir@social.vivaldi.net 2026-03-30 01:16
@atkelar@meow.social @gmh@mastodon.social Don't you know they prey on children? No US coverage, eh? ;))