Elektrine lite

← Feed

@gmh@mastodon.social

Post #3124699

2026-03-27 23:01 UTC

@atkelar@meow.social Depends on who you’re sharing it with. I think Apple’s thinking is ‘if they can’t prove they’re an adult, assume that the user is a kid given a phone by their parents’ - and in that case, it might be reasonable to default to sharing location, so you can find them. This is part of the Screen Time interface; I think the intent is that a parent would set this up; in such a case, you wouldn’t want Junior turning the setting off…

Replies (1)

  • @atkelar@meow.social 2026-03-28 16:00

    @gmh@mastodon.social while I can see that reasoning... shouldn't that be some parental control stuff rather than regular settings? Possibly linked via the online accounts and not even accessible via the device? "This setting is managed by your administrator...err...guardian" or somesuch? Quite confusing I think; and I'm also not 100% sure if that self-assessment should hold up in court... but that's just me.

    Open ##3124700