Elektrine lite

← Feed

@jaz@toot.wales

Post #3030485

2026-03-09 20:36 UTC

@glyph@mastodon.social @bitprophet@social.coop no, it is copied from 1 to 40,000+ times depending on your social graph. It is sent to your followers or the servers where your followers live then to the followers of people who boost your post, plus servers that use relays to bring in content, hashtag services (if you add a hashtag) that subscribe to posts with certain hashtags. If you used followers-only, then the upper limit is indeed your follower count, the above is for public posts.

Replies (2)

  • @sabik@rants.au 2026-03-10 01:58

    @jaz@toot.wales @glyph@mastodon.social @bitprophet@social.coop also to clients with functions like "remote conversations" or "remote profiles", and then if the user interacts with the post, even just a favourite, to their corresponding servers

    Open ##3030486

  • @Mikal@sfba.social 2026-03-10 02:05

    @jaz@toot.wales @glyph@mastodon.social @bitprophet@social.coop This is why I'm considering setting posts to auto delete and followers only and going through and reviewing existing followers and vetting new ones from here out. The world is changing so quickly that I think I'd rather have anything I say be a little more under my control and ability to remove. Having fewer public posts would also provide less data for bot scrapers.

    Open ##3030487