Post #2994194
2026-05-03 15:01 UTC
Replies (3)
-
@CppGuy@infosec.space 2026-05-03 15:42
@wdlindsy@toad.social Just to flesh that out a little bit: you keep your follows, your followers, your bookmarks and your blocks, and, if other users have blocked you, you stay blocked by them. However, you lose all the messages that you've posted in the past. How much of a penalty that is depends on how and why you use Fedi. I've moved a few times in the past, and it's always worked. I've even moved from Mastodon to *oma and from there to Glitch Social, and it's worked every time. Pro tip: if your account is locked (i.e. you manually approve follow requests) then it's worth unlocking it immediately before the migration and re-locking it a few minutes afterwards. Otherwise, you'll need to re-approve each follower by hand, which gets a bit tedious. The whole process is written up here: https://fedi.tips/transferring-your-mastodon-account-to-another-server/ @AnnieBuddy@thecanadian.social
-
@AnnieBuddy@thecanadian.social 2026-05-03 15:48
@wdlindsy@toad.social I find your posts really informative. Thanks for doing what you do.
-
@Eliot_L@social.coop 2026-05-03 19:28
@wdlindsy@toad.social if you are looking for a new instance and open to the idea of joining a co-op I can recommend mine. We are democratically governed and financially self-sustaining through mandatory dues on a sliding scale as low as £1/month. We run mastodon and have a 1000 char limit and have also been experimenting with bonfire social on a separate instance. If a post of any member were removed on here I am sure there would be a good reason and that reason would be provided if you asked the community working group, but we also have a clear and formal code of conduct at https://wiki.social.coop/wiki/Code_of_conduct