Elektrine lite

← Feed

@SylvieLorxu@chaos.social

Post #723261

2026-03-20 08:29 UTC

RE: https://chaos.social/@grote/116257002625921666 I quote boosted this before focusing on the 24h delay, but the worst part is having to enable developer options. Fairphone: Settings -> About phone -> Build number (7 taps) Samsung: Settings -> About phone -> Software information -> Build number (7 taps) Given the steps differ per device it is impossible for any third party app store to give clear instructions. To top it off, the first 3 taps give *no feedback* at all. Even worse, some apps refuse to run on devices with dev mode enabled.

Replies (2)

  • @SylvieLorxu@chaos.social 2026-03-20 08:31

    Google obviously knows how user unfriendly it is to enable developer mode and how this will effectively make it impossible for the vast majority of non-technical users to access any third party app stores. This is as malicious as malicious compliance to EU law goes. I cannot think of a more aggressive roadblock they could have put up, even forcing some to choose between third party app stores like #FDroid or #IzzyOnDroid and banking apps. There is no doubt about it, this is not about safety.

    Open ##2113872

  • @deetwenty@todon.nl 2026-03-20 20:32

    @SylvieLorxu the wait time and warnings I can get (though 24hr might be somewhat on the long side) to how certain scams tend to work (putting time pressure on people so they don't think clearly, having a mandatory wait time will prevent a lot of this), the reason given for the reboot makes sense but I think a better way would be to forcibly enable airplane mode while viewing the warning screen (this way the warning screen has now two functions discontent you from a potential scammer and display a warning/explanation). The developer mode requirement is totally nonsense. A better flow imho would be - when trying to enable this feature a warning opens while this warning is open airplane mode is forced on. The OK button needed to continue only becomes available after ~30sec (cancel button is always available) - once the user presses OK a ~4hr (4hrs is I think plenty for people to think over what they are trying to do, though if there is research out there that says people need longer to realize they are getting scammed it might need to be longer) - once the timer runs out the user can enable for a period or permanent I think this would cover most bases from a security perspective while not nearly being as obnoxious as the Google proposed route.

    Open ##2113880