Post #3356323
2026-06-19 19:46 UTC
it was always opt-in.
people finding out: github.com/audacity/audacity/pull/835#discussion_…
people highlight the opt-in dialog text: github.com/audacity/audacity/pull/835#discussion_…
there are no commits in between; it could not have been changed to opt-in “when people found out” as you claim.
Replies (1)
-
@wildflower@lemmy.world 2026-06-19 20:11
Perhaps you are right, I could be remembering it wrong (but really I don’t feel like wading through that comment-section), the telemetry was just the tip of the iceberg for me, violating GPL licence and things like using google and yandex are among many reasons I just don’t trust them with my music.