Elektrine lite

← Feed

@frox@tooting.ch

Post #2003851

2026-05-05 06:37 UTC

@leadore @knoppix95 @signalapp even if you loose the phone number, if you keep connecting with the account it's "reserved" for you. The person getting your old number won't be able to register a signal account with it. It's in the signal docs, can't remember where

Replies (1)

  • @leadore@sunny.garden 2026-05-05 15:29

    @frox @knoppix95 @signalapp That's interesting. I wonder how many times people have gotten a new phone/phone# and not been able to use signal. In that case seems to me like the person who got their old number could easily just start using the signal app without trying to register as a new account, just as if the original person had gotten a new phone. The new person could just start up the app, verification proves they have the number. So they could see all the original person's messages and even send messages as them. Someone else said you could set a PIN to prevent that, but that sounded optional so people might not think to do it. But either way, there's a conflict of 2 people using/trying to use the same phone#, with no workaround. A phone # as the 'unique' acct # is just not a good way to do this.

    Open ##2023740