Elektrine lite

← Feed

@aura@gts.foxsnuggl.es

Post #1191840

2026-04-16 11:12 UTC

@codemonkeymike @HitokiriEric @coldclimate You can remotely remove a machine from activation lock, but "deleting" the machine from Find My does not do that. I've done this incorrectly with a work T2 machine that they had unlocked by Apple after I left instead (with invoice and such), but it still sometimes checked in to my Find My (with the new user's hostname no less, good engineering apple) until I actually removed it properly.

Replies (2)

  • @aura@gts.foxsnuggl.es 2026-04-16 11:12

    It feels like deliberately shitty UX so you don't actually release your old activation locked hardware by accident.

    Open ##1204956

  • @HenryT@fosstodon.org 2026-04-16 14:13

    @aura @codemonkeymike @HitokiriEric @coldclimate Had a new Mac with a line of dead pixels. Apple support kindly guided me through reset and removal from my account while connected to the internet. Exchanged for a new one. A couple of months later I get a notification that the dead pixel Mac has been added to my Facetime and such … I was able to verify because I kept the serial number screen shots.

    Open ##1204958