Elektrine lite

← Feed

@ECityMom@mstdn.ca

Post #1179388

2026-03-23 15:11 UTC

When you migrate instances, do you lose your followers?

Replies (1)

  • @AmeliasBrain@mstdn.ca 2026-03-23 15:53

    @ECityMom@mstdn.ca So long as your old account still exists, your followers are redirected to the new one. There is a process to follow: 1) you set up your new account 2) in settings on the new account, you say that your old account is an alias for you 3) you log into your old account, and set up the redirect, which also effectively archives the old account (so make any last posts or edits to your bio/display name first). In Mastodon, these settings are all under Preferences/Account The next time your followers (or their server as a whole?) check for updates, they'll get the redirect information & automatically follow the new account. In contrast, for people you follow, you download an export file on your old account & then import it to your new account.

    Open ##3819793